top of page

Inside my Florida Bedroom

Updated: Jul 2, 2019

I've been living in Florida for about two months now and have certainly created the perfect home away from home for myself. My college apartment and dorm rooms had a super clean, grey, white and purple color scheme going on, which I loved. When I moved to the sunshine state, I wanted my room to reflect the beachy, palm-tree vibe-- something you most definitely do not find in Pennsylvania. My room has become my own little getaway with a ton of natural light and calming colors. I'm super pumped with the way it turned out and wanted to share with you all!


We'll start with my desk/vanity area. I was looking for something compact and small that I can sit at to do my makeup in the morning. I needed something white to keep my room in the light vibe I was going for and included a small drawer for my makeup.


My Desk:

I had never ordered from Wayfair until I moved to Florida and needed to buy my own furniture (and needed to buy at a reasonable price). But, I found exactly what I was looking for for under $100! The mirror was included and is actually attached to the piece, so you don't have to worry about hanging or propping it up against the wall. You can find this exact piece here on Wayfair.

Since the desk top itself is such a small area, I tried to keep it as clean as possible when it comes to decor. I used two picture frames from Michaels and placed them on either side of the mirror. The S hook is perfect for my keys and work ID: A TJMaxx $4.99 find! The blue Archaeology candle was on clearance at Target for $6, and I loved the color, so I snatched that up as well.


When I first started my job with Disney, my leaders gave me a welcome box that all new D23 members receive when they become a part of the fan club. It had tons of (duplicated) historical sketches from Walt and other Disney memorabilia inside. I decided to frame a few pieces to add some subtle Disney magic to my room!


My Bed:

My bed was definitely my favorite part of the decorating process. I based all of the furniture and decor in my room around my quilt and pillow choices. I bought a light, cream colored quilt and matching throw pillow at my local TJMaxx. I have always loved super calm colors on a bed spread but after seeing how blended the pillow and cover looked together, I decided I wanted a pop of color! My mom and I found a blue striped and a solid yellow throw pillow at HomeGoods in North Carolina on our drive down to Florida. I have never been so great at using "mismatched" colors. I always felt the need to match everything to one base color. But hey-- new life, new room, new look! I was beyond happy with the way my bed came together (and clearly, so was Minnie). Here's similar quilt from TJMaxx!


My Nightstand:

Another HomeGoods find! If you haven't noticed, HomeGoods is my go-to. My nightstand is iron and very simple. It was about $40. I didn't want anything big and crazy. My lamp (another HomeGoods find) and my 4x4 frame (TJMaxx) fit perfectly on the tiny tabletop. I have the perfect amount of room for my phone and glasses when I go to bed and that's truly all I needed! Here are some similar nightstands and lamps!

My Rug:


In the clearance section of HomeGoods, mom and I found a TOTAL steal: $8.00 for this little ditty. I loved that the colors coordinated with my pillow but added a fun new pattern aspect to some dead space on my floor. I'm sure when you pop in HomeGoods, TJMaxx or Marshall's, you'll find a treasure like this one for yourself! I've linked a few for you below that are on the market right now!


My TV Stand:


I was 100% the most pumped about this purchase. My TV ended up being wider than I thought so I had to find a long but space-saving piece that had room for DVDs and other electronic pieces. I went back to Wayfair, since I had so much success with my desk, and they did not disappoint. I found this stand for $44! It was on closeout so I snatched it up as quickly as I could. The self-assembly was certainly not fun, but for $44, PLUS FREE SHIPPING, this piece was so worth it. Check out their sale section to find a total steal for yourself!

These frames were both HomeGoods finds and the candle was another $6 Target clearance!


Wall Frames:


I found this entire set of frames at HomeGoods in so many different shapes and sizes. They're super lightweight and can be held up with a simple command hook. I grabbed an 8x10, two 11x14s and one with a triple 4x6. They matched the color of my sheets perfectly and I loved the twine at the top to hang them. AND the big ones were only $9.99! $7.99 for the 8x10.

There's a super cute store at Disney Springs called SugarBoo and Co. They have thousands of beautiful quotes and one-of-a-kind gifts. I usually pop in to see what's around and I found myself coming back to the same quote every time I went in the store. So one day, I said "treat-yo' self, Stephanie!" and bought it. I love waking up to something as simple as a quote to get myself on the right track for the day. You can peek at SugarBoo's website here to find your go-to mantra!

My wall canvas is a hidden gem from Target! It was $35 and it ties together every color in my room so nicely. You can find this exact piece here . Or, if you're looking for a different color scheme with a similar vibe, here are some more ideas!


My Corner Tower:

So, originally, this was supposed to be my "TV stand," but it is clearly far too skinny to hold such a wide television. I use it for storage and some extra photo display space to make my room feel more homey. There was a 3-tier and 4-tier version at HomeGoods with a very similar price. The 4-tier option was $99 so spent the extra money and went for it.


I have tons of these tiny brown papers throughout my room as friendly, motivational reminders. Each is $1.29 at SugarBoo and they even sell tiny windows and frames to display them. Each display is $10 and so worth it for a small, unique piece in any space.

My fan was more of want rather than a need. But, it matched my pillow so clearly I had to buy it! Also, I'm one of those people who needs some kind of sound while I sleep, but TV is bright and distracting, so my fan works perfectly! $30 from HomeGoods and they have it a variety of pretty pastel colors!

And there ya have it, folks! I hope you enjoyed my mini room tour and found it helpful if you're looking for a new vibe in your room.


What's your favorite piece in your room? Where to you shop when it comes to redecorating? I'd love to hear more about it! Leave me a comment below!

Stay smilin'! -- Steph

198 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page